2017 PEN America Debut Author Long List Announced


The PEN/Robert W. Bingham Prize for Debut Fiction honors an exceptionally talented fiction writer whose debut work—a novel or collection of short stories—represents distinguished literary achievement and suggests great promise. The winner receives a cash award of $25,000, a stipend intended to permit a significant degree of leisure in which to pursue a second work of literary fiction.

We want to congratulate Rion Amilcar Scott, Brit Bennett, and Yaa Gyasi for making the long list of the 10 debut authors in 2016 to be selected for such a prestigious award.

Insurrections: Stories The Mothers Homegoing
by Rion Amilcar Scott by Brit Bennett by Yaa Gyasi
Additional Reading Additional Reading Additional Reading

Finalists will be announced on January 18, 2017 and the winner will be announced live at the 2017 PEN America Literary Awards Ceremony on March 27, 2017.

Share your thoughts below. Have you read either book? What do you think of their selection?

About MahoganyBooks 236 Articles
MahoganyBooks is an online bookstore that believes in social entrepreneurship. We take a leadership role in the African American community promoting reading, writing, and cultural awareness as tools to improve communities as well as enrich the lives of motivated individuals.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.