Hurston/Wright Foundation Legacy Awards Call for Submissions

The Zora Neale Hurston / Richard Wright Foundation Calls for Submissions for the 2015 Legacy Awards

The Hurston/Wright Legacy Awards are the premier literary awards presented to Black writers by their peers. The Legacy Awards in Fiction, Nonfiction and Poetry each year honor the most accomplished and innovative writing published by Black writers from the U.S. and the Diaspora.

All submissions must be made no later than November 12, 2014.

“The Hurston/Wright Legacy Award is an especially necessary prize as it celebrates black authors and sheds light on literature that otherwise might be overlooked. I was absolutely humbled and delighted to join such a distinguished list of recipients.

Esi Edugyan, Winner of the 2013 Legacy Award for Fiction for Half Blood Blues “What an extraordinary privilege to be honored by the Hurston/Wright Foundation Legacy Award. Receiving such an honor will forever be a high point in my career as a writer.”

Fredrick C. Harris, Winner of the 2013 Legacy Award for Nonfiction for The Price of the Ticket: Barack Obama and Rise and Decline of Black Politics

CLICK HERE for Guidelines & a Submission Form

About Derrick Young 24 Articles
I am the CEO and Co-Founder of the award-winning online bookstore, MahoganyBooks.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.