The Afrominimalist’s Guide to Living with Less | January 2022 Bookclub Selection

It’s 2022 and yes we are we’re kicking off this years reading list with a “New Year, New You” selection the MahoganyBooks way. Our goal this year is to live everyday with intention and we are eager to clean out our cluttered spaces, be they closets, hearts, or minds. So we’ve invited author and friend, Christine Platt, to join our January book club discussion to share her insight and expertise. Her book, The Afrominimalist’s Guide to Living with Less is inspired by her personal journey, presents a radical revisioning of minimalism, one that celebrates the importance of history and heritage, and gives you permission to make space for what really matters…your way.

Join the MahoganyBooks Bookclub featuring co-host Panama Jackson during the month of January as we read and discuss Christine’s book. We will meet to discuss the book virtually via Zoom on February 4th from 6PM – 8PM EST. Use this link to register for your spot.


About the Book

Forget the aesthetics of mainstream minimalism and discover a life of authenticity and intention with this practical guide to living with less…your way.

When Christine Platt set out on her journey to live with less, she never intended to become The Afrominimalist. She just wanted to tame the chaos in her closet! But after struggling with the austerity and whiteness of mainstream minimalism, Christine realized why minimalism often seems unattainable for so many: the emphasis on all-white, barren aesthetics distracts from the practice of living with intention. And so, she decided to do things her way by curating a life of less influenced by the African diaspora.

In The Afrominimalist’s Guide to Living With Less, Christine gets right to the heart of how childhood experiences and expectations manifest in adulthood, the delicate dance between needs and wants, and the complicated weight of familial and societal pressures. A far cry from Konmaried closets, capsule wardrobes, and conspicuous consumption, Christine’s brand of “living with less” is more than a decluttering regimen. Inspired by her personal journey, Christine presents a radical revisioning of minimalism, one that celebrates the importance of history and heritage, and gives you permission to make space for what really matters…your way.

Beautifully illustrated with original black-and-white prints and line drawings, The Afrominimalist’s Guide to Living With Less is a testament to the idea that anyone can be a minimalist and a warm invitation to a life curated with intention, perfect for readers of Joshua Fields Millburn and Ryan Nicodemus (The Minimalists), Marie Kondo, Joshua Becker, and Courtney Carver.


Discussion Day Info

The discussion will take place via Zoom with author and MahoganyBooks family member, Christine Platt, on February 4th from 6PM – 8PM EST. To join in on the book discussion you must register using the link below.

About MahoganyBooks 235 Articles
MahoganyBooks is an online bookstore that believes in social entrepreneurship. We take a leadership role in the African American community promoting reading, writing, and cultural awareness as tools to improve communities as well as enrich the lives of motivated individuals.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*